Product
CSI 23/28KTL-CT/US-480
- ID
prod:canadian-solar-23-28ktl-ct
- IRI
https://solarlattice.org/kb/prod/canadian-solar-23-28ktl-ct
- Status
- active
- Also known as
- CSI 23KTL-CT, CSI 28KTL-CT, 23KTL-CT/US-480, 28KTL-CT/US-480, CSI 23KTL-CT/US-480, CSI 28KTL-CT/US-480, 23KTL-CT, 28KTL-CT, CSI 23/28KTL-CT
- Category
- Inverters
- Make
- canadian-solar
- Product level
- family
The CSI 23/28KTL-CT/US-480 is a Canadian Solar transformerless three-phase string inverter family. It comes in a 23 kW model and a 28 kW model. Both models accept up to 1000 Vdc and have two MPP trackers with four DC inputs each. A load-rated DC switch handles DC disconnection. The MPPT range is 480-800 Vdc on the 23 kW model and 500-800 Vdc on the 28 kW model. Maximum input current per MPPT is 25 A and 29 A. The AC output is 480 Vac, 60 Hz, three-phase with neutral and PE. Maximum output current is 27.7 A on the 23 kW model and 33.7 A on the 28 kW model. Peak efficiency is 98.6 percent and CEC efficiency is 98.0 percent. Power factor can be adjusted, and output derates at high temperature. For communication the inverter uses Modbus over RS485. Firmware can be upgraded from a USB disk through the communication board's USB port. An Arcboard provides arc fault detection. An Arcboard Err fault points to poor contact or damage on that board. Clear it with ARCFaultClear after checking the board.
<!-- review notes
- sentence 5: support check: partial - The efficiencies and the adjustable power factor are stated, but the derating-curve caption only shows a high-temperature derating figure and does not state the derating behavior.
- sentence 7: support check: partial - The Arcboard Err causes and the ARCFaultClear step are stated, but the passage does not say the Arcboard provides arc fault detection.
- sentence 1: review: partial - Canadian Solar, transformerless and the 23 kW and 28 kW models are supported, but 'three-phase string inverter' is not stated in the cited passages.
- sentence 7: review: partial - The Arcboard Err causes (poor contact or damage) and the ARCFaultClear step after checking the board are stated, but the row never says the Arcboard provides arc fault detection.
-->
Claims
manufactured_by
c1 drafted · lead
Canadian Solar
review note: support check: partial - Evidence is only the bare string 'CanadianSolar', which suggests but does not state the manufacturer relation.
instance_of
c2 drafted · lead
Inverter
uses_protocol
c3 drafted · lead
Modbus
c4 drafted · lead
RS-485
RS485 cable: UTP CAT-5e or 3x #22-18 AWG communication cable, e.g. Belden 3106A.
implements
c5 drafted · lead
Maximum power point tracking
Two MPP trackers per model, with four DC inputs on each MPPT.
c6 drafted · lead
DC arc-fault protection
Uses an Arcboard; arc faults are cleared with the ARCFaultClear command.
review note: support check: partial - The Arcboard error and ARCFaultClear are in the passage, but it never states that the inverter provides DC arc-fault protection.
c7 drafted · lead
Constant power factor mode
Power factor above 0.99, adjustable to plus or minus 0.8.
review note: support check: partial - The table gives a power factor of >0.99 and ±0.8 adjustable, but it does not name a constant power factor mode.; review: partial - The table gives power factor >0.99 and adjustable to ±0.8, which matches the note, but it never names a constant power factor mode.
rated_power
c8 drafted · lead
nominal 23 KiloW
Conditions: CSI 23KTL-CT/US-480, rated AC output power
review note: possible conflict with c9 (same source; check the conditions)
c9 drafted · lead
nominal 28 KiloW
Conditions: CSI 28KTL-CT/US-480, rated AC output power
review note: possible conflict with c8 (same source; check the conditions)
max_input_voltage
c10 drafted · lead
nominal 1000 V
Conditions: Both models, maximum DC input voltage
mppt_voltage_range
c11 drafted · lead
480–800 V
Conditions: CSI 23KTL-CT/US-480
c12 verified · fact
500–800 V
Conditions: CSI 28KTL-CT/US-480
verified by: review-workflowverified on: 2026-10-24
max_input_current
c13 drafted · lead
nominal 25 A
Conditions: CSI 23KTL-CT/US-480, per MPPT (Imp); total 50 A
review note: possible conflict with c14 (same source; check the conditions)
c14 drafted · lead
nominal 29 A
Conditions: CSI 28KTL-CT/US-480, per MPPT (Imp); total 58 A
review note: possible conflict with c13 (same source; check the conditions)
rated_output_current
c15 drafted · lead
nominal 27.7 A
Conditions: CSI 23KTL-CT/US-480, maximum AC output current
review note: possible conflict with c16 (same source; check the conditions)
c16 drafted · lead
nominal 33.7 A
Conditions: CSI 28KTL-CT/US-480, maximum AC output current
review note: possible conflict with c15 (same source; check the conditions)
nominal_voltage
c17 drafted · lead
nominal 480 V
Conditions: Rated AC output voltage, three-phase with N and PE; output voltage range 422-528 Vac
frequency
c18 drafted · lead
nominal 60 HZ
Conditions: Rated output frequency
c19 drafted · lead
59.3–60.5 HZ
Conditions: Output frequency range
efficiency
c20 verified · fact
nominal 98.6 PERCENT
Conditions: Maximum (peak) efficiency
verified by: review-workflowverified on: 2026-10-24review note: possible conflict with c21 (same source; check the conditions)
c21 drafted · lead
nominal 98 PERCENT
Conditions: CEC weighted efficiency
review note: possible conflict with c20 (same source; check the conditions)
Referenced by
Data